Julliard Park Neighborhood

Prior to my current downtown home, I spent eight years living in a delightful granny unit which bordered Julliard Park. South A Street, known as the SOFA District, is just around the corner; I’ll discuss SOFA in my next post.

julliard_park
Julliard Park, Santa Rosa, CA

Julliard Park is located at 227 Santa Rosa Avenue, just south of downtown. This 9.1 acre city park contains bocce ball courts, a community garden, a rose garden, and lots of trees and grass to lounge on. I would sometimes see folks in formal wear posing for pictures, the bridge over the ponds seemed a particularly popular spot for wedding photos.

Here are my favorite places and events in my former neighborhood.

Live at Julliard

Each summer, the city’s recreations and parks department puts

img00100
Julliard Park, Santa Rosa, CA

on a free Sunday concert series. This year’s concerts will occur each Sunday from June 25 through August 13, 2017 at 5 to 7 pm. Bring your blanket and the kids for an early evening picnic. You can bring your dinner from home or buy food and drink from one of the vendors. This year’s bands have yet to be announced on the city’s site. Traditionally, the performers have been family-friendly, and people of all ages enjoy dancing on the lawn in front of the stage that is erected each week. I particularly enjoyed a Beatles cover band I saw years ago. They changed costumes at the break, transitioning from the early Beatles’ songs and personas to the later years of the band.

Father’s Day “Show and Shine” Car Show

Another fun annual event in Julliard Park, this classic car show takes place each Father’s Day; this year on June 18, 2017. The event is free to spectators.

It was a shock to me my first couple years in the neighborhood. Somehow, I would sleep though the noise of 100s of classic cars driving into the park, only to be awakened on a Sunday morning to the DJ playing “American Bandstand.” Needless to say, I did catch on, and began recognizing this 9am song as the kick off to this event.

In addition to viewing cars from several eras, and talking with many of the autos’ owners, you can purchase drinks and food, and participate in raffles and contests. The show raises funds for scholarship and vocational programs.

Dierk’s Parkside Cafe

Located just south of Julliard Park at 404 Santa Rosa Avenue is one of my favorite breakfast spots. I have two out-of-town childhood friends who also love Parkside. We go every time they come to visit me.

I am particularly fond of the Sonoma Vegetable Hash (with eggs poached) paired with a Mimosa. This dish is a combination of yummy (pesto) and sustaining (hash browns and eggs), while also feeling fresh and healthy (local vegetables and fresh fruit on the side). We’ve brought my friends’ children on a variety of visits, most recently the Fruit, Yogurt, Granola Parfait went over well. I’ve only been on the weekends when I’ve always had to wait for a table. It’s always been worth the wait.

While you’re in the Julliard Park neighborhood, I also recommend a stroll through the Luther Burbank Home and Gardens, particularly when the rose garden is in bloom. This beautiful and educational garden is located at the corner of Santa Rosa and Sonoma Avenues.

Thanks, as always, for reading. Let me know what you like most about the Julliard Park neighborhood. Until next time, I hope to see you downtown!

Leave a Reply

