(Almost) Daily Guide for Downtown Santa Rosa

There’s plenty of places to go downtown, so how do you decide when making plans? This week, I’ll share a few of my day-specific specials and entertainment options downtown. In upcoming posts, I’ll share my favorite seasonal events.

Sunday Fun-day

It’s both the beginning of the week and the end of the weekend. So where do you go for your “day of rest”?

I recommend Local Barrel.  Opened in June 2016, Local Barrel is located at 490 Mendocino Avenue, Suite 104.

Local_barrel_beer_board
The Board at Local Barrel

“Local” is the distinguishing word for this pub. They pride themselves on serving 20+ craft beers featuring many local breweries, locally-sourced wines, and local cider. They also display local artists’ works, and have employees who are known to me from the downtown pub scene. Their posted goal of having “the most unique beer selection in Sonoma County” seems to me to be working. Every time I’ve visited, there has been a new IPA for me to try. The menu board is a work of art, brightly displaying their current selections. Further, beer is available to-go and they even ship.

They make my Sunday list because each Sunday at 5pm, Local Barrel offers free live music, an activity that had been sorely rare in downtown until “The Local” picked up the torch of regularly offering a downtown venue for local musicians.

While they serve a few snacks, they don’t have a kitchen, therefore you are encouraged to bring in outside food to enjoy with your beverage. Local Barrel also has music and other events outside of Sundays, keep an eye on their Facebook page for details.

Russian River Brewing Company

As mentioned in previous posts, Russian River has a well-deserved and wide-reaching positive reputation. The brew pub is located at 725 Fourth Street and Sunday they provide all-day happy hour prices.

Tuesday Date Night

If it’s Tuesday, I recommend The Third Street Aleworks  located at 610 Third Street. The Aleworks is 21 years old, making it the oldest brewery in downtown Santa Rosa. While their menu is quite expansive, I specifically like to go on Tuesdays for their bratwurst. The brats, served with sauerkraut, are only $3.50 on Tuesdays. The Aleworks also has $3.50 beer specials all day Tuesday; my favorite is the Bombay Rouge India Red Ale.

Pair your dinner with a $3.75 movie from Third Street Cinema 6,  located just behind the Aleworks at 620 Third Street. Join the cinema’s email list to get weekly show times.

Enjoy dinner and a movie for under $15!

Thirsty Thursdays

My suggestion for Thursdays is Ausiello’s Bar and Grill. While they have a different beer special from 4 to 7 each day, I’m recommending Thursdays because that’s when Racer 5 from Healdsburg’s Bear Republic Brewing Company is only $2.75. Order a burger (beef, chicken, or two veggie options) and check out their condiment/salad bar.

Ausiello’s is a great place for sports fans, as I counted 21 televisions. They display an impressive collection of sports memorabilia, including a large bobble-head collection. They also have a full bar, I’m told their Bloody Mary is excellent, and it looks good to me despite the fact that I don’t care for tomato juice.

artatthesource
 May 5th show
(graphic courtesy of Corrick’s)

First Fridays at the Gallery at Corrick’s

Mentioned in my previous posts as a great shopping spot, Corrick’s  located at 637 Fourth Street, also contains a year-round Art Trails gallery.

On the first Friday of the month (excluding January and July), they have art openings showcasing local artists from 5 to 7pm.

Saturday Brunch

Sprenger’s Tap Room,  is located at 446 B Street, in the Brickyard Center. I’ve enjoyed lunch there with my parents on several occasions. I particularly like the comfy chairs at their tables.

Sprenger’s has gotten a lot of positive press about their Sunday breakfasts. But here’s my tip: the same menu is also available on Saturdays when I’m told it’s less busy. On the weekends, breakfast is served from 8am until noon. You’ll enjoy dishes like Corned Beef Hash, Eggs Benedict, or the popular Breakfast Burrito. Pair your brunch with a Mimosa, non-vodka Bloody Mary, or one of their 40 beers on tap.

So, let me know where your favorite spots are for Mondays and Wednesdays, and then I’ll have a full list.

Hope to see you downtown!

Leave a Reply

